

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

May 17, 2023, 1:30 P.M. 900 N Portland Ave, Conference Room 304 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, John Daniel, Dr. Katherine Curry,

Ken Parker

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Kathryn Szallar

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout,

Lecrecia Schmidt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: None

Call to Order: Dr. Katherine Curry called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Curry asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the April 19, 2023 Commission Meeting: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the April 19, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Szallar:absentDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approve

Dr. Curry: approve

Page 1 of 2

Approval of Minutes from the May 2, 2023 Commission Meeting: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the April 19, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Szallar: absent Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve

Dr. Curry: approve

Presentation of School Performance Review, Marietta Public Schools: Dr. Tatia Prieto of Prismatic Services, Inc presented the results of the Marietta Public Schools Oklahoma School Performance Review.

Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1): At 1:52 p.m. the Commission voted to go into Executive Session as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Executive Director for OEQA. The vote to go into Executive Session passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Szallar: absent Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve

Dr. Curry: approve

Return to Open Session: The Commission voted to return to Open Session at 3:02 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 3:04 p.m. The minutes of the May 17, 2023 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted with corrections

on June 21, 2023.

Signed:

Dr. Katherine Curry Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf,

Secretary of Education OEQA Interim Executive Director